Researchers elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Biochemistry, Microbiology, and Biological Structure

Five faculty members and one affiliate professor at the University of Washington are among 120 new members and 30 international members elected to the National Academy of Sciences. The new members include 59 women, the most chosen in a single year, according to an April 26 announcement by the academy.

The UW faculty members selected this year include:

In addition, Julie Overbaugh, a professor of human biology and of public health sciences at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, was elected to the academy. Overbaugh is an affiliate UW professor of microbiology.

Read the entire story here.