UW School of Medicine (SoM) is committed to a diverse, inclusive environment where all members of our community can thrive. UW SoM strives to recruit, retain, and develop the best faculty members from across the country and around the world. A key priority towards this goal is to have equity (by gender, race, ethnicity, promotion pathway) in both salary and career advancement for our faculty.

The UW SoM Salary and Promotion Equity Review Committee was created to provide ongoing input on the salary equity and promotion review process and to manage and disseminate a school-wide report on a regular basis.

Department-Level Reviews

Every three years, department leaders partner with a team from the School of Medicine to review compensation and promotion progression for all faculty.  The committee will evaluate and identify opportunities for continuous improvements to the current department-level reviews.

School-Wide Report

A school-wide report will be developed that can be shared with our SoM community. This analysis will help advance our work towards salary and promotion equity, identify new opportunities to mitigate bias, and increase transparency around current processes with our faculty and other SoM community members.

Salary and Promotion Metrics

The committee will look at a variety of metrics guided by the those found in the AAMC Exploring Faculty Salary Equity at U.S. Medical Schools by Gender and Race report. These metrics will be reassessed year to year as we work to provide the most comprehensive assessment of potential inequities.

Salary and Promotion Equity Review Committee

Barbara Goff
Committee Co-Chair
Chair, OBGYN

Trish Kritek
Committee Co-Chair
Vice Dean for Faculty Affairs

Erin Allen
Vice Chair, Administration & Finance, Pediatrics

Aarti Bhat
Chair, Faculty Council on University Relations

Sarah Brown
Assistant Professor
Pediatric Anesthesiology

Beth Buffalo
Physiology and Biophysics

Layne Chapple
Teaching Associate
Radiation Oncology

Andre Dick
Seattle Children’s Hospital

Ashlee Harty
Associate Dean, Academic & Medical Staff Affairs

Roxanne Kerani
Chair, Committee for Women in Medicine & Science

Bay Leslie-Mazwi

Paula O’Halloran
Int. Dir., Acad. Appointments & Compensation

Marion Pepper

Hannibal Person
Chair, Cmte for Minority Faculty Advancement

Karen Stout
Chair, Appointments & Promotions Committee

Elia Tait Wojno
Associate Professor

Michelle Terry
Assistant Dean for URMS Career Development

Marie Westermeier
Director of Personnel Guidance

Douglas Wood

Bessie Young
Vice Dean for Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion

Dima Young